Monday, 3 December 2012

Prayer Letter: December 2012

Monday, December 3: We welcome our new and returning Board members and ask God's grace and blessings on them as they continue to work in helping ICS fulfill its mission.

Tuesday, December 4: Former interim ICS president Morris Greidanus has been diagnosed with an aggressive form of T-cell lymphoma. Please pray for strength and patience for Morris and also his wife Alice.

Wednesday, December 5: The Faculty meets today. We pray that God's wisdom will guide this meeting.

Thursday, December 6: John Hulst, former ICS Board member and Chair, has been hospitalized for tests and treatment. Please pray that the Lord will give John a long time of continued enthusiastic Kingdom service.

Friday, December 7: We ask God to bless Junior Member Jelle Huisman as he defends his MA thesis today.
We offer prayers of praise for the talents of Hendrik Hart who will be launching his book, Responses to the Enlightenment: An Exchange on Foundations, Faith, and Community this evening.

Monday, December 10: The fall semester ends this week, but there is still so much academic work to be done. Please pray for energy and blessings for our Junior Members as they finish their course work and upon Senior Members as they mark and prepare for the upcoming semester.

Tuesday, December 11: We offer prayers of gratitude for the very generous spirit of you, our supporters throughout the Christmas giving season. It is truly a blessing to have the interest and support of so many people.

Wednesday, December 12: Today is the last Academic Council meeting of the 2011 calendar year. We ask that God's guidance and wisdom be in all the discussions and planning.

Thursday, December 13: Tomorrow is the final day of classes for this semester. We can look back with gratitude and offer prayers of thanks for another semester of opportunities to learn.

Friday, December 14: This is a day of celebration: the last day of classes and our Community Christmas party! We thank God for a fruitful semester and look forward to an evening of celebration, reflection, and fun. Remember the ICS community as Junior, Senior, and staff members gather with volunteers, friends and members of the Board and Senate.

Monday, December 17: As we complete the final preparations for our Christmas celebrations with family and friends, we thank God for all he has provided for us. As many members of the ICS community will be traveling far and wide, please pray for their safe travel and a blessed and rejuvenating time with friends and family.

Tuesday, December 18: Our new Presidents Tom and Dawn Wolthuis, are moving to Toronto this week. We pray for a smooth transition between our two countries.

Wednesday, December 19: We pray for God’s guidance and wisdom at today’s Leadership Team meeting.

Thursday, December 20: We ask God to bless Junior Member Daniel Mullin as he defends his PhD today.

Friday, December 21: Today we ask for God's help for those who are struggling with cancer and other illnesses. We pray for strength, patience and for good results from treatment.

Monday, December 24: As Christmas draws near, we remember people who are suffering around the world in areas of conflict and war. We need to hear the angels' call for "Peace on Earth" and so we offer prayers that peace and joy can be realized throughout the world.

Tuesday, December 25: Today we celebrate the birth of Jesus Christ. We offer prayers of thanks to God for this wonderful gift and we pray that everyone has a peaceful and joyful day with loved ones.

Wednesday, December 26: With the winter weather bringing colds and flu, please pray for the health of staff, faculty and students at ICS.

Thursday, December 27: We pray for strength, energy and enthusiasm for our Senior Members who are preparing to start their new courses in January.

Friday, December 28: We ask God's help and guidance for all those who are doing advancement work for ICS both in Canada and in the US. Please pray that support for the vision and mission of ICS continues to grow.

Monday, December 31: As the year 2012 draws to a close we give thanks for another fruitful year of work at ICS and for all our supporters and friends who made that work possible through their prayers and financial gifts. We ask God's blessings upon all the teaching and learning that will happen in the next year.