Monday, 3 June 2013

Prayer Letter: June 2013

Monday, June 3: Senior Member Ron Kuipers’ father Gerhardus (Gerry) Kuipers passed away suddenly last month. Ron is thankful for all those who have offered their heartfelt condolences. Knowing that so many people carried him and his family in their thoughts and prayers has been very comforting. Please keep Ron and his family in your prayers.

Tuesday, June 4: The annual Senate and Board meetings were held last month. We are grateful for all the work these people do for ICS, and for the talents and experience they bring us.

Wednesday, June 5: We offer prayers of celebration for the successful completion of the academic programs of seven Junior Members, each of whom were recognized and honoured last month at ICS's Convocation ceremony.

Thursday, June 6: The Alumni Association is working on a meeting for all alumni in the fall. We pray for inspiration and vision as they build towards our meeting. We ask God that many alumni hear about it, and show support.

Friday, June 7: Today we pray for God's help for those who are struggling with illnesses. We ask God for strength, patience and for good results from treatment.

Monday, June 10: As we wind up our annual Phone-a-thon, we offer prayers of thanks for the diligent work of the volunteers, and the wonderful support of the ICS community. We are truly blessed!

Tuesday, June 11: The grades for spring semester courses are due this week. We give thanks for completed work and offer prayers for energy for our Senior Members as they enter what is often a busy time of grading.

Wednesday, June 12: We offer prayers of praise for the talent of Cal Seerveld who has published an article in the journal SEEN.

Thursday, June 13: Senior Members often spend much of the summer developing course curriculum and giving attention to research projects. We are extremely grateful for the work of our Senior Members and ask for God's blessing on them.

Friday, June 14: We celebrate Father's Day on Sunday! We ask for God's blessing on all fathers, that they may spend a wonderful day with their loved ones.

Monday, June 17: We pray for stamina and wisdom for Senior Member Doug Blomberg as he continues in his role as Academic Dean.

Tuesday, June 18: The summer months are often a time when Junior Members give sustained attention to their Masters and Ph.D. thesis projects. We pray for our Junior Members and ask for God's blessing on their research and writing.

Wednesday, June 19: We ask God's help and guidance for all those who are doing advancement work for ICS. Please pray that support for the vision and mission of ICS continues to grow.

Thursday, June 20: We offer prayers of gratitude for the wonderful work done by Senior Member Ron Kuipers as Director of our Centre for Philosophy, Religion and Social Ethics.

Friday, June 21: The Faith and Justice Project Steering Committee is meeting today. We pray that God's guidance and wisdom be in all the discussions and planning.

Monday, June 24: We offer prayers of gratitude and appreciation for the faithfulness of you, our wonderful donor community, who have continued to give ICS gifts of prayers, money, concern and appreciation. It is truly a blessing to have the continued interest and support of so many people.

Tuesday, June 25: Korea has been a divided nation for over 60 years. Today we pray for peace in Korea.

Wednesday, June 26: We continue to pray for blessings and energy for ICS Presidents, Tom and Dawn Wolthuis, as they manage their many responsibilities.

Thursday, June 27: We celebrate the addition of eleven new Junior Members to the ICS community this fall. We will remember them in our prayers as they make the necessary preparations and transitions this summer in order to begin their program studies in September.

Friday, June 28: Summer has arrived and many people are planning trips. Many members of the ICS community will be traveling in the summer months to spend time with family and friends. We pray for safe and pleasant journeys.